Home / News / News & Features / Coral Eclipse Runners – City Of Troy to Face Seven at Sandown

News & Features

Coral Eclipse Runners – City Of Troy to Face Seven at Sandown

From the 11 confirmations, eight have been declared for the 2024 running of the Coral-Eclipse, run this upcoming Saturday, 6th July at Sandown. The headline act racing hoped for is among them, with City Of Troy the standout name to compete in the race, run over 1m2f, a quarter of a mile shorter than the Epsom Derby he won at the start of June.

His trainer Aidan O’Brien has sent out a record seven winners in the race, including two of the last three, though his Derby winner, who bounced back from a relative no-show in the 2000 Guineas, is not the only runner he may be responsible for. Hans Andersen will likely be used for pacemaking duties having arguably done so effectively given Auguste Rodin’s success in the Prince Of Wales’s Stakes at the royal meeting.

City Of Troy’s danger in the market looked to be the year older White Birch, but he has not been declared after an unsatisfactory scope earlier in the week. John Joseph Murphy’s striking grey was third in the 2023 Derby, but readily eclipsed Auguste Rodin in the Group 1 Tattersalls Gold Cup in May for his first top level success.

Other representatives of the Classic generation are French 2,000 Guineas second Dancing Gemini and Prix du Jockey Club fourth Ghostwriter, both of whom may excel given conditions. Roger Teal’s charge was sixth at Epsom, while Ghostwriter finished ahead of City Of Troy when fourth in the 2000 Guineas at Newmarket.

Jayarebe and See The Fire are fellow three-year-olds still in the race, the former having won at Royal Ascot in the Hampton Court Stakes. Two more among the potential older participants are Al Riffa, a Group 1 winner as a juvenile in 2022, and Hughie Morrison’s mare Stay Alert.

Eclipse Stakes Runners

1Al RiffaJoseph O’Brien
2Hans AndersenAidan O’Brien
3Stay AlertHughie Morrison
4City Of TroyAidan O’Brien
5Dancing GeminiRoger Teal
6GhostwriterClive Cox
7JayarebeBrian Meehan
8See The FireAndrew Balding