Queen Mother Champion Chase Tips – Expert Predictions

The Queen Mother Champion Chase is the two-mile chasing championship at the Cheltenham Festival. More than any other race, it has seen some sensational performances down the years. Do our experts believe another of those is on the horizon? Find out all the information with our in-depth preview below.

Andrew Mount’s Champion Chase Tips

Awaiting tips…

Matty Sutcliffe’s Champion Chase Tips

Awaiting tips…

Queen Mother Champion Chase Bookmaker Runners + Odds – Race 4, Wednesday 12th March 3:30

The Queen Mother Champion Chase is always one of the races of the Festival. The 2024 field below shows the shock success of Captain Guinness.

Betway Queen Mother Champion Chase (Grade 1) (GBB Race)

Bookmakers not found
Claim Bonus Signup Offer Bet £10 Get £40 In Free Bets
Claim Bonus
10 Our Score
Excellent Review

All About The Queen Mother Champion Chase Trophy in 2025

The Queen Mother Champion Chase is regularly won by a superstar. When we know more about the line-up in detail, we will update the card above, plus give our selections.

Champion Chase Overlooked Outsiders

This year’s Queen Mother Champion Chase looks as though it will be dominated by the favourites on paper, but it does not always pan out like that. Some outsiders could cause an upset and we will preview them here once the field is declared.

For five-year-olds and older, only a mares allowance applies for any participants. That 7lb claim has been put to good use by Put The Kettle On in recent years.

Ordinarily, that minimum age group would have been winless in a race of this nature, but Master Minded was a far from ordinary five-year-old when he won in 2008. Otherwise, youth has not been an advantage in this race, despite the shorter trip, with only two other six-year-olds (aside from Master Minded when he won again in 2009) winning in the history of the race.

The previous year’s Arkle winner is usually the place to start when looking at the Champion Chase. Since 2000, Moscow Flyer (2003), Azertyuiop (2004), Voy Por Ustedes (2007), Sizing Europe (2011), Sprinter Sacre (2013), Altior (2018) and Put The Kettle On (2010) had all won the two-mile novice championship the year prior. Similarly, Finian’s Rainbow (2012) and Dodging Bullets (2015) had both run in the Arkle but been beaten 12 months before success in the Queen Mother.

Since 2011, there are two men who have hoarded eight of the titles in this race. Five have, unsurprisingly, gone the way of Nicky Henderson, but long before he and Rachael Blackmore forged such a partnership, Henry de Bromhead was having significant success of his own courtesy of Sizing Europe and Special Tiara, before Put The Kettle On added to his haul. Willie Mullins could seek to join him on three winners this season after Energumene’s previous two victories.

Finally, be wary of the skinny-priced favourite. While Sprinter Sacre and Altior have obliged punters, five odds-on favourites have been beaten in the Queen Mother since 2010.

Prize Money in 2025

2024s fund saw more than £390,000 on offer, with more than £225,000 going to Captain Guinness’ connections. There is no official confirmation on the prize for 2025 yet.

Queen Mother Champion Chase History

The Queen Mother had Cheltenham’s two-mile chasing championship named after her in 1980, but the race itself was first run in 1959. Without a sponsor until 2007, the race has had a partnership with Betway since 2015.

Quita Que was the inaugural winner, but supremacy was soon taken by two men: trainer Tom Dreaper and jockey Pat Taaffe.

Together, the pair won five runnings of the Champion Chase between 1960 and 1970. Two of those were courtesy of Fortria (1960, 1961), with one each for Ben Stack (1964), Flyingbolt (1966) and Straight Fort (1970). Taaffe added one more for good measure in 1969 with Muir, ridden by Ben Hannon.

Fortria is one of a number of horses who have been able to win this race twice, but while the other three championship races at the Festival have played host to multiple hat-trick winners, only Badsworth Boy has managed it in the Queen Mother, between 1983 and 1985.

Among those dual winners read many illustrious names. Hilly Way now has a raced named in his honour at Cork, Viking Flagship won two fantastic races in the 1990s, while Barnbrook Again ensured David Elsworth and Simon Sherwood completed a memorable double in 1989 with Desert Orchid later winning the Gold Cup.

Dreaper’s sextet of titles is unsurpassed even to this day, but two men have managed to match him in recent years. Nicky Henderson’s haul started off with Remittance Man in 1992, but a yawning gap of 19 years set in before his second winner, Finian’s Rainbow. Two each for Sprinter Sacre and Altior drew him level.

Paul Nicholls joined them a year later with Politologue his sixth winner. Master Minded provided two of his wins, while Call Equiname, Azertyuiop and Dodging Bullets were the other three. Taaffe was also unmatched as a jockey until Barry Geraghty lifted his fifth Champion Chase on Sprinter Sacre in 2013, but he was unable to go past.

While we have seen some awesome winners in recent years, none more so than Sprinter Sacre, it was possibly worth going all the way back to 1971 for a horse remembered like no other. That chaser was Crisp, astonishingly talented, but known more for his memorable defeat in the 1973 Grand National.

Master Minded was in a league of his own in the 2008 Queen Mother Champion Chase.

Winners since 2000

2000Edredon BleuJ:A P McCoy
T:Henrietta Knight
2002Flagship UberallesJ:Richard Johnson
T:Philip Hobbs
2003Moscow FlyerJ:Barry Geraghty
T:Jessica Harrington
2004AzertyuiopJ:Ruby Walsh
T:Paul Nicholls
2005Moscow FlyerJ:Barry Geraghty
T:Jessica Harrington
2006NewmillJ:Andrew McNamara
T:John Joseph Murphy
2007Voy Por Ustedes J:Robert Thornton
T: Alan King
2008Master MindedJ:Ruby Walsh
T:Paul Nicholls
2009Master MindedJ:Ruby Walsh
T:Paul Nicholls
2010Big ZebJ:Barry Geraghty
T:Colm Murphy
2011Sizing EuropeJ:Andrew Lynch
T:Henry De Bromhead
2012Finian’s RainbowJ:Barry Geraghty
T:Nicky Henderson
2013Sprinter SacreJ:Barry Geraghty
T:Nicky Henderson
2014Sire De GrugyJ:Jamie Moore
T:Gary Moore
2015Dodging BulletsJ:Sam Twiston-Davies
T:Paul Nicholls
2016Sprinter Sacre J:Nico De Boinville
T:Nicky Henderson
2017Special TiaraJ:Noel Fehily
Henry De Bromhead
2018AltiorJ:Mark Walsh
T:Willie Mullins
2019AltiorJ:Nico De Boinville
Nicky Henderson
2020PolitologueJ:Harry Skelton
T:Paul Nicholls
2021Put The Kettle OnJ:Aidan Coleman
Henry De Bromhead
2022EnergumeneJ:Paul Townend
Willie Mullins
2023EnergumeneJ:Paul Townend
Willie Mullins
2024Captain GuinnessJ:Rachael Blackmore
Henry De Bromhead

Cheltenham Festival Racing Schedule

1:30Ballymore Novices’ HurdleRead Tip
2:10Festival Novices ChaseRead Tip
2:50Coral CupRead Tip
3:30Queen Mother Champion ChaseRead Tip
4:10Glenfarclas Cross Country ChaseRead Tip
4:50Johnny Henderson Grand AnnualRead Tip