Home / Goodwood Cup Tips 2024

Goodwood Cup Tips 2024

The Goodwood Cup is one of the longest-standing races in the calendar and the Group 1 forms the middle part of the Stayers Triple Crown. Our experts have delved into the state of affairs in this year’s renewal of the 2m contest, producing expert insight and tips to help you find the winner.

How to Pick a Goodwood Cup Winner

The Goodwood Cup on day 1 forms the second part of the Stayers Triple Crown and shock results in the race are few and far between in recent years. Five winners in a row went off as favourite between 2018-2022, but Quickthorn provided the first upset for many a year when slipping the field for his 16/1 success in 2023.

Colts and geldings have been the go-to in this race down the years, with Allegretto (2007) the last filly to land the Goodwood Cup, she was the first filly to win the Goodwood Cup since 1958. 

Experience tends to count for plenty in the race. Stradivarius became the first 3yo winner since Lucky Moon (1990) when landing the race in 2017, and he went on to land the next three renewals, with his four Gold Cups making him the most successful horse in the race’s history. Recently, this has been a good race for British-based trainers, with the last nine renewals going their way, Saddler’s Rock (2012) landing the race for John Oxx and still the last Irish winner of the Goodwood Cup. 

All About The Goodwood Cup: Past and Present

The Goodwood Cup was dropped to its current length of 2m in 1991, and four years later the race was assigned Group 2 classification. The Goodwood Cup was promoted to a Group 1 race in 2017. Al Shaqab, the Arabian horse breeding operation, currently holds sponsorship of the Goodwood Cup. 

With the Goodwood Cup run in late July or early August, the ground tends to be either good or good to firm but there are exceptions. Trueshan won the prize on soft ground 12 months ago with the late defection of Stradivarius on account of the slow surface aiding his cause significantly.

Stradivarius’s four Goodwood Cups make him the most successful horse in the race’s history, but in terms of human performance, John Scott remains the most successful trainer in the Goodwood Cup, having landed seven renewals from 1836-1860. Six jockeys are currently tied on five wins in the Goodwood Cup, with Frankie Dettori the only one of those still currently riding.

How Do Horses Qualify For the Goodwood Cup Race?

The Goodwood Cup is open to horses aged 3yo and older, whilst there are no restrictions in terms of sex. There is no qualification system currently in place for the Goodwood Cup, but the race tends to attract runners from the Gold Cup at Royal Ascot, and a number of horses have completed the double down the years.

What is the Goodwood Cup Prize Money in 2024?

When the Goodwood Cup was promoted from a Group 2 to a Group 1 in 2017 the race’s purse was increased from £300,000 to £500,000, which it remains to this day. The Goodwood Cup winner receives £283,550, with the second taking home over £100,000. 

Goodwood Cup Past Winners

2023QuickthornHughie MorrisonTom Marquand16/1
2022KypriosAidan O’BrienRyan Moore6/4F
2021TrueshanAlan KingHollie Doyle6/5F
2020StradivariusJohn GosdenFrankie Dettori4/7F
2019StradivariusJohn GosdenFrankie Dettori4/5F
2018StradivariusJohn GosdenAndrea Atzeni4/5F
2017StradivariusJohn GosdenAndrea Atzeni6/1
2016Big OrangeMichael BellJamie Spencer11/4F
2015Big OrangeMichael BellJamie Spencer6/1
2014CavalrymanSaeed bin SuroorKieren Fallon5/1